About the RMOW

Incorporated on September 6, 1975, the Resort Municipality of Whistler (RMOW) is Whistler’s municipal government led by an elected Council and administered by an executive team and staff on behalf of almost 10,000 permanent residents and 2.5 million annual visitors.

The RMOW governs and manages the resort community, acting as a steward for resort interests and serving the needs of both residents and visitors. The organization is committed to progressive and deliberate community planning and management to create a vibrant and healthy resort community.


Our vision, Whistler: A place where our community thrives, nature is protected and guest are inspired. Whistler was the proud Host Mountain Resort for the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games.


The RMOW’s mission is to be a leader and a partner in the resort community, representing a caring, accountable, open, professional, municipal government, committed to continuous improvement and to balancing fiscal capabilities with the delivery of exceptional service.

The municipality spans an area of 12,630 hectares and is located approximately 125 kilometres north of the large population centre of Metro Vancouver.

The RMOW manages municipal planning and development, park and Village operations, sports facilities and recreation, public utilities and environmental services, bylaws and enforcement, fire rescue, fiscal planning and financial services, legislative services, human resources, communications and the administration of the Whistler’s Official Community Plan.

Learn more about the RMOW’s departments

Print Friendly, PDF & Email