Civic Service Awards

The Civic Service Awards are held annually to recognize individuals that bring distinction to themselves and to the Resort Municipality of Whistler (RMOW) in volunteer roles through committees and boards of Council.

Nominations for the 2023 Civic Service Award are now closed. The three award recipients will be announced and presented with a Civic Service Award during the annual Council recognition event held in early December.


Committees assist Council and provide opportunities for public involvement in municipal matters. Each year, the RMOW engages with a number of community organizations and has more than 100 individuals volunteering on the committees and boards.

Learn more about Committees and Boards.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Must be an active member of a RMOW Select Committee of Council, Municipal Corporation or Council-Appointed Board,
  • Must be a volunteer or unpaid role,
  • RMOW employees are not eligible and cannot receive a Civic Service Award,
  • Self-nominations are not accepted.

2022 Civic Service Awards Recipients

Whistler’s Council presented three Civic Service Awards to recognize Alvin Poettcker, Emily Taylor, and Chelsey Walker for their volunteer contributions on Committees and Boards. The awards were announced and presented at a Council Recognition Event held on October 22, 2022.

Alvin Poettcker was awarded for his contribution to the Whistler 2020 Development Corporation (WDC).

The WDC was created to facilitate the delivery of the Whistler Athlete Village for the 2010 Winter Games and what is now the residential neighbourhood of Cheakamus Crossing. It is a wholly owned subsidiary of the Resort Municipality of Whistler.

Alvin has served as director of the Board since 2018 and brings extensive expertise in development and financial management through his long standing involvement as one of the first directors of the UBC Properties Trust. Alvin was nominated for his exemplary leadership and dedication to the WDC Board.

Emily Taylor was awarded for her contribution to the Whistler 2020 Development Corporation (WDC).

Emily has served as director of the Board since 2018. She has extensive experience both as a CA and CPA, and she is chair of the Finance Committee and a member of the Governance Committee. Her development experience both in private and public organizations has been indispensable and Emily was integral in the development of the first WDC Governance Manual.

Chelsey Walker was awarded for her contribution to the Accessibility and Inclusion Committee.

The Accessibility and Inclusion Committee focuses on matters related to enhancing accessibility and inclusion across the resort community as well as providing means to evaluate community progress in enabling people with disabilities to enjoy active participation.

Chelsey sat on the first community group in 2007 and has remained an instrumental advocate in adaptive sport, accessibility and inclusion. She has grown Whistler Adaptive into a year-round program offering 18 different adaptive sports. She was instrumental in the development of the Jeff Harbers Adaptive Sports Centre at Olympic Station and will now be driving her tireless advocacy into her role as Director for the 2025 Invictus Games here in Whistler.


Julie Sakamoto – 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email